« go back

I noticed that Sweet and Low has cream of Tartar. Is there a problem of using it since cream of Tartar is derived somehow from wine?

 

There is a way for it to be considered kosher according to the Shulchan Aruch (see Yoreh Deah 123:16). The reason is that the wine crystals become so  deteriorated that they are now like “dust”.

Of course that any such item would require a reliable Hechsher. See the article from the OU.

However, according to the Taz (Yoreh Deah 123:9) in the name of the Rashal, it is best to avoid having cream of tartar unless it is derived from a kosher wine source. Additionally, others argue that the process used today isn’t the same as described in Shulchan Aruch and as such the same Halacha might not apply. Therefore it’s recommended to use only from a Mehadrin Hechsher.

 

 

#6023

 


Add Comment

Your Email address will not be published