What can I do about serving non-kosher food (potential meat & milk) in my drug rehab facilities?


What do other people do in Jewish owned nursing homes?

What if there are Jewish people?

Would this be permissible because it’s saving lives?



I can’t answer for the many other people what they do.

The common acceptable halachic approach is to use a third party food service, and the nursing home does not take actual ownership of the forbidden foods. The Jewish owner or any Jewish employees should also not have any interaction with non-kosher food to avoid concern of coming to eat it.

The reason to use a third party service, because even where there isn’t the issue of basar bchalav, it’s still forbidden to purchase and serve non kosher food in general. This is due to issur sechorah. Even according to the opinion that one may feed workers, this does not apply to feeding patients which are not considered workers, but rather customers.

Using an independent food service or caterer also ensures that there’s no violation of lifnei iver. There is no justification for having a Jewish person serve non-kosher food to people who are Jewish. Even if the intention is to save their lives through a drug rehab program, this can be equally done with kosher food, even if this would be extremely difficult and almost not viable.

When it comes to serving basar bchalav, or anything else which is assur b’hannah, the only solution would be to use a third-party service, which not only takes control of the catering, but they also take care of serving the patients. They may not be paid in advance; they could be paid after the invoice you for what they served.

If you don’t know the menu, you must assume there is basar bchalav. If the menu doesn’t contain Beef, lamb, or goat meat which was heated up with dairy together together in liquid, you wouldn’t have the problem of basar b’cholov, but it would still have the general issue of issur schora. Chicken would also not be an issue of issur hana’ah.

There would be similar issues with chometz on Pesach, But this is more complex.



כל הפרטים בשו״ע אדה״ז תנ, יט ואילך. וכ״ה בכל איסורי הנאה – כבשו״ע יו״ד קלב, ד. ובנו״כ שם.

והחשש שמא יקנה חמץ שבשו״ע אדה״ז תנ, כב – הוא בכל איסורי הנאה, כבגמ׳ ע״ז סג, ב, וברמב״ם מאכ״א יג, כה שחושש שמא ישתה יי״נ. וראה כאן:

Is it permissible to pay for workers who are Goyim to eat Treif in a Jewish-owned Halal store?

ואף שלא מצינו דין זה בהדיא לענין בשר וחלב, פשוט שה”ה. וראה בשו״ת נטיעה של שמחה (במברגר) או”ח סוסי’ ד שאין לאסור בספיקא (דבב”ח). וצ”ע בכוונתו, אי מיירי בלא הקדים דינר, דבהכי קאי התם, אלא שא״כ מאי קמ״ל.

והנה, בשוע”ר שם סכ”ד כתב שמותר לפרוע לו אחר שנתן החמץ ליד התינוק או אחר שהניח חמץ בבית הישראל שכבר יצא החמץ מרשות הנכרי קודם הפירעון ולרשות הישראל עדיין לא בא (שאע”פ שהניחו בביתו אין חצירו של אדם קונה לו בעל כרחו) וגם הנכרי לא מכר את החמץ לו אלא להתינוק. וצ”ע אם אפשר לומר כן בנדו”ד, שהרי בפשטות דעת הנכרי (שכל דין זה תלוי בזה – כדמוכח בכמה דוכתי. וראה גם שו״ע אדה״ז שם סכ״א: גם החנוני נתכוין להקנות החמץ להעבד במשיכתו ולא להישראל. והוא מתוד״ה ואינו – ע״ז סג, ב. ושם  בסכ״ב במוסגר: כיון שהחנוני כבר קיבל הדינר מן הישראל הרי דעתו להקנות להישראל מזונות כנגד דינרו) הוא למכור הבב”ח להישראל לצורך הנכרים.




Add Comment

Your Email address will not be published